Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google+ Instagram

DMC in Poland

Destination highlights

Combination of modern life and traditions
Country of Frederic Chopin
Salt mines
Auschwitz concentration camp
Warsaw – MICE destination
Krakow – pure incentive destination
Well-preserved nature with northern beaches
Country of students, universities

Destination practical information

Official title: Republic of Poland (Rzeczpospolita Polska)
Neighb. Countries: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania and Russia. It has a 500km-long Baltic Sea coast for in the north.
Area: 312,000 square kilometers
Population: 38,000,000
Capital:  Warsaw (1.7 million citizens)
Major cities: Gdansk, Katowice, Cracow, Lodz, Poznan, Szczecin, Wroclaw
Administration: 16 administrative provinces known as voivodeships, the voivodeships are divided into powiaty (counties) and then gminy (communes).
Highest point: Rysy, at 2,499 m
Language: Polish
Government type: Republic
Religion: Roman Catholic
Currency: Polish Zloty (Zl) – PLN. 1 Zl = 100 groszy (Gr).
Poland introduced new bank notes in 1995. The five new notes (for 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 zloty) come in different sizes and are easily recognizable. The coins are as follows: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 groszy and 1, 2 and 5 zloty.
Time zone: GMT + 1 in winter (GMT + 2 in summer)
Telephone number: The country telephone code for Poland is +48
Electricity: 220V, Sockets take two round pins – an adapter plug will be required for British hair dryers, shavers, etc.
Public holidays: January 1st – New Year’s Day
January 6th – Epiphany
Variable – Easter Monday
May 1st – Labor Day
May 3rd – Constitution Day
Variable – Corpus Christi (9th Thursday after Easter)
August 15th – Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
November 1st – All Saints’ Day
November 11th – Independence Day
December 25th – Christmas Day
December 26th – Boxing Day

Contact us

[sg_popup id=1]