Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google+ Instagram

DMC in Slovakia

Destination highlights

Bratislava – Modern Slavic city
Spas and thermal waters
Danube river cruises
National parks and lakes
Country food

Destination practical information

Official Title: Slovak Republic (Slovenská Republika)
Area: 49 030 square kilometers
Neighb. Countries: Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Ukraine
Population: 5,440,000
Capital: Bratislava (431 000 citizens)
Nationalities: Slovak (85.6%), Hungarian (10.8%), Romany (1.8%), Czech (1.2%), Ruthenian (0.3%), Ukrainian (0.3%), German (0.1%), Polish (0.1%), Other (0.2%)
Religion: Roman-Catholic (60.3%), Greek-Catholic (3.4%), Protestant (6.2%), Reformist (1.6%), Orthodox (0.6%), Without any confession (9.7%), No data (18.2%)
Government type: Parliamentary democracy
Independence: January 1, 1993 (from The Czecho-Slovak Federation, previously Czechoslovakia)
Monetary unit: Euro – EUR (€), 1 Euro = 100 cents
Climate: High temperate in the summer and cold, cloudy, humid winters
Electricity: The electric current in Slovakia is 220 volts AC at 50 cycles per second (Alternating Current). You will need a two-pin European adapter plug
Public holidays: January 1st – Day of the Establishment of the Slovak Republic
January 6st – Epiphany
Variable – Easter Friday
Variable – Easter Monday
May 1st – Labor Day
May 8th – Day of Liberation from Fascism (1945)
July 5th – Day of Slav missionaries Cyril and Methodius
August 29th – Slovak National Uprising
September 1st – Day of the Constitution of the Slovak Republic
September 15th – Day of Blessed Virgin Mary, patron saint of Slovakia
November 1st – All Saints’ Day
November 17th – Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day
December 24th, 25th and 26th – Christmas

Contact us